Dukla arrives with stage winner!

Dukla Banská Bystrica

This year, the Tour de Hongrie stage winner from 2015, Marek Canecky is competing for the Slovakian team, Dukla, based in Banska Bystrica, the country’s only Continental team is going to return to Hungary in August!

The Tourminator, Peter Sagan, made cycling one of the most famous and popular sports in Slovakia in two years, the 3-times World Champion Peter Sagan is a national hero in Slovakia – he started his professional cycling carreer in 2009 as the rider of Dukla.

Hungarian fans can know very well the squad, they took part in the Tour de Hongrie last year. The team is based in Banska Bystrica from 2016 when the Kemo-Dukla Trencin and CK Banska Bystrica were united and they became: Dukla Banska Bystrica.

How familiar are the cyclists of Dukla? Well, definitely very much as its assistant coach, Maros Kovác were able to wear the yellow jersey during the 2015 Tour de Hongrie, then Patrik Tybor could stand on the stage podium twice, he was 2nd in the climber classification.

Not to mention the team’s most successful cyclist, Marek Canecky who returned home from the Austrian Amplatz-BMC: the 2-times Slovakian time trial national champion achieved TDH stage victory in Kecskemet in 2015, a year later he won the final stage of the V4 race in Pannonhalma.

Beside Canecky and Tybor, the thirty-one-year old rider, Martin Haring is also a dominant member of Dukla, these three cyclists achieved several stage victories at the Hungarian, Slovakian and Bulgarian tours, they performed very well at big multiple stage races and reached great overall results..

The road cycling is a “national sport” in Slovakia nowadays, we can be sure, the Dukla Banska Bystrica will have a dominant role at this year’s Tour de Hongrie.

Rider of the Dukla Banská Bystrica:

Juraj Bellan (Slovakian)
Marek Canecky (Slovakian)
Jan Andrej Cully (Slovakian)
Adrián Foltán (Slovakian)
Martin Haring (Slovakian)
Jakub Hudák (Slovakian)
Martin Mahdar (Slovakian)
Matus Melis (Slovakian)
Samuel Oros (Slovakian)
Filip Taragel (Slovakian)
Patrik Tybor (Slovakian)
Jakub Varhanovsky (Slovakian)
Martin Vlcak (Slovakian)


Teams of Tour de Hongrie

Team Differdange-Losch (LUX)
Pardus-Tufo Prostejov (CZE)
Sangemini MG.K vis Olmo Vega (ITA)
Team Novo Nordisk (USA)
Holdsworth Pro Racing
Ljubljana Gusto Xaurum