Here are the teams of Tour de Hongrie

Teams for the 41th edition

Hungary’s biggest cycling race will be held between 29 August – 2 September 2020. Here are the final squads for the 2020 Tour de Hongrie: 20 teams with 120 riders. To be more exact: five World Teams, eight Pro Teams and six Continental teams. National Team of Hungary will join them.

The Hungarian Tour is an UCI 2.1 race which means only professional clubs (World Team, Pro Team or Continental Team) or national squads can attend. This significally limits the possibilities of Hungarians as after the termination of Pannon Cycling Team there isn’t any other Hungarian club in this „league”.

However, Organisers reached a real milestone as the strongest peloton ever will race in Hungary at the end of August. Among the 120 riders probably several Hungarian are going to participate. Let’s see where we may find them!

World Teams: Mitchelton-Scott (Barnabás Peák), CCC Team (Attila Valter)
Pro Teams: Team Novo Nordisk (Péter Kusztor), Androni-Giocattoli-Sidermec (János Pelikán)
Continental Teams: Kometa-Xstra (Márton Dina, Erik Fetter), Giotti Victoria Palomar (Viktor Filutás), Team Novák (Balázs Rózsa, András Szentpéteri and Zsombor Wermeser), then in the squad of Miercurea Ciuc further five riders from Szeklerland might be on the start list – Károly Eduárd Novák, Lóránt Balázsi, Nándor Lázár, Róbert Szilágyi and Szilárd Török.

As it was announced previously, the following teams set to take to the start line: Israel Start-Up Nation (World Team / Israel), Jumbo-Visma (World Team / the Netherlands), TREK-Segafredo (World Team / USA), Mitchelton-Scott (World Team / Australia), CCC Team (World Team / Poland), Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec (Pro Team / Italy), Alpecin-Fenix (Pro Team / Belgium), Team Novo Nordisk (Pro Team / USA), Vini Zabu-KTM (Pro Team / Italy), Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles (Pro Team / Belgium), Uno-X Pro Cycling Team (Pro Team / Norway), Caja Rural-Seguros-RGA (Pro Team / Spain), Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (Pro Team / Belgium), Kometa-Xstra (Continental Team / Spain), Adria-Mobil (Continental Team / Slovenia), Team Novák (Continental Team / Szeklerland), Vorarlberg Santic (Continental Team / Austria), Giotti Victori-Savini Due (Continental Team / Romania) and Elkov-Kasper (Continental Team / Czech Republic).

The race is ahead of new perspectives as organisers have huge and serious aims: the ProSeries category. They work hard on that and they hope Tour de Hongrie can be added to ProSeries races in the future. There are really strict rules and regulations if a race would like to become a ProSeries competition. For example, that at least three World Team and at least eleven World Team or Pro Teams should take part in the race.

The 41th edition of the, now UCI 2.1, event will be held between 29 August – 2 September 2020 with 20 teams and 120 riders.