National squad from our neighbourhood

National Team of Serbia

In our special series which focuses on the teams competing at the Tour de Hongrie starting on 11 June now in the spotlight we can get to know better a national squad from our neighbourhood, Serbia. They will arrive with the lead of Radomir Pavlovic, winner of the Kranj GP in 1984.

This country is truly well-known for the Hungarian fans as year by year they return to the Tour de Hongrie. Moreover – as Yugoslavia – they won the yellow jersey in 2001 when Mikos Rnakovic became the best at Kékestető then the overall winner of the general classification too. In 2008 Stevic was 3rd and the team’s competition was won by Serbia.

As a national team, Serbia took part in our race in the last 4 years (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018) and they were really active participants.

During this year’s Tour de Hongrie maybe the strongest Serbian can be Marko Danilovic who was the silver medalist last year in the national championships, the 7th of 2015 Tour de Hongrie, the best in the climber classification of 2018 Tour of Serbia, Stefan Stefanovic, the winner of the time trial, Andrej Galovic, 2017’s Serbian Road Cycling Chapionships gold medalist, Dusan Kalaba or Stevan Kisuric who performed really well in the Tour of Szeklerland. The team will have two youngsters as well, the 18-year-old Djordje Djuric and the 19-year-old Dusan Veselinovic.

Beside the pro continental and continental teams competing in Hungary at the Tour de Hongrie, LOC and fans can welcome two national squads we well, they are: Serbia and Hungary.

Tour de Hongrie, with its 890 km will start on 11 June, the UCI 2.1 race will finish on 16 June. 140 riders from 20 teams during 6 days are going to compete in Hungary.

Teams of Tour de Hongrie in 2019

Cofidis (FRA)
Androni-Giocattoli Sidermec (ITA)
Israel Cycling Academy (ISR)
Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia-KTM (ITA)
Tarteletto-Isorex (BEL)
EvoPro Racing (IRL)
Bike Aid (GER)
Team Coop (NOR)
Dukla Banská Bystrica (SVK)
Team BridgeLane (AUS)
Differdange-GeBa (LUX)
Sparta Praha (CZE)
CCC Development Team (POL)
Adria Mobil (SLO)
Elkov-Author (CZE)