Tour de Hongrie: Five World Teams at the start

Fifteen teams out of twenty

After the postponement caused by pandemia, Hungary’s biggest cycling race, Tour de Hongrie, will be held between 29 August – 2 September 2020. Organizers have already announced officially the participation of fifteen teams – among them there are five World Teams and six Pro Teams.

Márton Dina (left - Kometa-Xstra), Krists Neilands (Israel Start-Up Nation) and Attila Valter (CCC Team) on the podium

As a World Team, Israel Start-Up Nation, the team of the defending champion, Krists Neilands, returns to Hungary. Australia’s Mitchelton-Scott may arrive with Hungarian Barnabás Peák and Polish CCC Team with Attila Valter. Furthermore, U.S. Trek-Segafredo and Dutch Jumbo-Visma will both attend the race.

Turning to Pro Teams: fans can welcome again Manuel Belletti’s (2018 TdH overall winner) squad, Italian Androni-Giocattoli-Sidermec, then Belgian Alpecin-Fenix and Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles, U.S. Team Novo Nordisk, Italy’s Vini Zabu-KTM and Norway’s Uno-X Pro Cycling Team are on the startlist.

Manuel Belletti won the first stage of the 40th Tour de Hongrie

Some words about the Continental teams: the participation of Romanian Giotti Victoria-Palomar, Spanish Kometa-Xstra, Slovenia’s Adria-Mobil and Team Novák from Szeklerland, is already official.

The 41th edition of Hungary’s most prestigious, UCI 2.1 race will have 20 teams with 120 riders between 29 August – 2 September 2020. The Hungarian Tour is going to be broadcasted live by Hungary’s national sports channel, M4 Sport. Eurosport will have highlights each day.

The official route of the 41th Tour de Hongrie

Stage 1 / 29 August, Saturday: Esztergom–Esztergom (118km)
Stage 2 / 30 August, Sunday: Debrecen–Hajdúszoboszló (158km)
Stage 3 / 31 August, Monday: Karcag–Nyíregyháza (182km)
Stage 4 / 1 September, Tuesday: Sárospatak–Kazincbarcika (171km)
Stage 5 / 2 September, Wednesday: Miskolc–Gyöngyös-Kékestető (188km)